PDA

View Full Version : Questions About John

kc989
Apr 11th 2009, 04:17 PM
Ok guys, I like to start off every one of my posts by saying I am very new to this and I may be wrong in everythig I say but here goes...

I accepted Christ into my life about a month ago and started reading the Bible. I ran into some trouble when reading John. Here are my questions...

1. Jesus says that we should not be worried about being judged by man because God will judge us. If this is the case, why was Jesus doing all of his miricles? Feeding 5,000 people, the blind man, Lazarus, ect.?

2. Right before he gets arrested, Jesus washes the feet of the Deciples. He says that he is doing this to set an example. Is the way he is showing us that we must love one another (even though he says that later on)?

3. Jesus says that he will rise 3 days after his death. If this is so, why do we celebrate Good Friday, then Easter Sunday? Thats only 2 days.

Thanks everyone!

Nihil Obstat
Apr 11th 2009, 04:36 PM
3. Jesus says that he will rise 3 days after his death. If this is so, why do we celebrate Good Friday, then Easter Sunday? Thats only 2 days.

This has to do with how Jews count days, and when their days begin. If you have a partial day, a full day, and another partial day, they would consider it to be three full days. Also, they start a new day not at midnight, but at 6pm.

Jesus died and was buried on Friday (Passover, 14th of Nisan - 1 Cor. 5:7; 15:3 w/ Lev. 23:4-5) before 6pm. His body was in the grave all day Saturday (Feast of Unleavened Bread, 15th of Nisan - Lev. 23:6-8). He rose early at the dawning of the sun when it was still dark on Sunday, the first day of the week (Firstfruits, 16th of Nisan - 1 Cor. 15:4, 20, 23 w/ Lev. 23:9-14; Josh. 5:10-12). He fulfilled the Lord's feast days on the very days they were to be celebrated!