PDA

View Full Version : Act As If? 1 Corinthians

kc989
Apr 16th 2009, 05:10 AM
Ok so I'm reading 1 Corinthians this week...tonight I have to read Luke 15 for my serivces this Sunday but I will be back to 1 Corinthians tomorrow...Anyway I was reading last night the part about Marriage. I believe its Chapter 7. Paul says (paraphrase) "Those of you who are married, act as if you are not."

Please remember...Im new at this...so when I read that, my first thought was that the Bible is telling me that even though Im married I could go out and "do" whatever I want (you know what I mean).

Of course I quickly realized no sex before married and the numerous adultary references in the Bible. I'm not even close to being like that even before I found Christ, but that is really what I thought Paul meant.

Can anyone explain this to me so I get a better understanding? Does he mean to act as if you aren't married and dedicate your entire life to Christ?

Thanks and God Bless!

Vhayes
Apr 16th 2009, 05:20 AM
Continue reading to see what Paul says:

32But I want you to be free from concern. One who is unmarried is concerned about the things of the Lord, how he may please the Lord;
33but one who is married is concerned about the things of the world, how he may please his wife,
34and his interests are divided.

So yes - Paul is advocating being single so a person will be more concerned with Christ than things of this world.

Does that help?
V

markedward
Apr 16th 2009, 05:37 AM
Can anyone explain this to me so I get a better understanding? Does he mean to act as if you aren't married and dedicate your entire life to Christ?
Paul points out that he and his contemporaries were undergoing a "present distress", likely the persecution of Christians that was intensifying during the first-century.

Butch5
Apr 17th 2009, 12:25 PM