PDA

View Full Version : Please Help Do you not have houses to eat in?

uric3
May 5th 2009, 02:17 PM
I'll start by giving some background I have been conservative member of the Church of Christ for sometime... however lately I have been studying a lot and I think there is a lot of stuff that the church has bound that the Bible doesn't really bind.

However there is one thing that I am still studying on that I am perplexed about... here lately I have attending a more "liberal" Church that has a kitchen and a fellowship hall etc... and a lot of times after services they get together and eat.

I currently have come to the conclusion that there is nothing wrong with this... however my conscience will not allow me to join them since I have had it in my mind that this shouldn't be for so long. 1st Cor 11:23-ff keeps popping in my head...

So the questions I am leading up to is for those of you who eat in the church building after services or what have you how do you explain or reconcile the passage there in 1st Cor 11 notably verses 33-34

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated... because in my mind if I bind things that ought not be bound then I am no different than those in Acts 15 who tried to bind some of the laws of Moses. Anyway thanks again for you responses in advance.

Vhayes
May 5th 2009, 02:21 PM
I could be way off base here but I had always understood that section of scripture to be a rebuke to the Corinthian Christians for showing up for fellowship and eating like gluttons during communion. They would eat far more than a piece of bread and drink far more than a sip of wine in remembrance - they were gorging themselves.

As I said, I could be way off. Hope this helps.
V

CoffeeCat
May 5th 2009, 02:31 PM
Let's look at the whole thing in context --

1Co 11:20 When you gather in the same place, it is not to eat the Lord's Supper.
1Co 11:21 For as you eat, each of you rushes to eat his own supper, and one person goes hungry while another gets drunk.