cure-real
Page 1 of 16 123456789101112 ... LastLast

Thread: "For the letter killeth, but the spirit gives life", 2 corinthians 3:6

"For the letter killeth, but the spirit gives life", 2 corinthians 3:6

"FOR THE LETTER KILLETH, BUT THE SPIRIT GIVES LIFE", 2 Corinthians 3:6

Dear Brothers and Sisters,

Back in the 1980's when I was a student at the Moody Bible Institute I was assigned a ministry in a prison. We had to do ministry related work for graduation requirements. I was teamed up with another man who was a student at a Bible school in Indiana. I do not remember his name.

On one occasion after we had delivered the Word to prisoners I noticed that the brother appeared to be quite distressed. So I asked him what was the matter. He replied saying,

"The pastor at my church has been saying that we sin when we do not tithe. He said that the inability to tithe is not an excuse. But I don't have the money to tithe".

I told the brother that tithing was abolished with the Levitical priesthood for it was an integral part of the Levitical priesthood. He asked me where the Bible says this.

"Those who are the sons of Levi, who receive the priesthood, have a commandment to receive tithes from the people according to the law....However, if perfection were through the Levitical priesthood, (for under it the people received the law), what further need was there that ANOTHER PRIEST should rise according to the order of Melchizidek, and not be called according to the order of Aaron? For the priesthood being changed of neseccity there is also a CHANGE IN THE LAW" Hebrews 7.

The sons of Levi had a "commandment" to receive tithes from the people. But that priesthood was abolished and Christ our Priest RECEIVED NO SUCH COMMANDMENT. Ergo, tithing is an old covenant ordinance!

The brother told me that his conscience had been set free. I felt good because the brother lifted his face in assurance that he is guilt free.