cure-real

Thread: Learned Something New!

Hybrid View

Learned Something New!

In class yesterday ( I am currently studying to be a Special Ed Teacher) a fellow classmate said that she was homeschooling her teen who is 13 and she was taking classes to make sure the right to teach her child will not be challenged in the future. She also pointed out that being a student gave her access to free textbooks that she uses to teach her child. Apparently, there is quite a few homeschooler parents taking classes in education. But when the teacher pressed her about why she felt her right to teach was being challenged, she said that many people in the community felt that a time would come that parents would have to be certified as a teacher as well to home school. I though CA was the only state considering this? Are more states looking into this as well?

In God's Amazing Grace!

Hi, Lo-Lo! What state is she homeschooling in? I'm in Colorado, and we don't have anything like that in the works that I know of...but I think homeschoolers are always a little edgy about what can happen to our homeschooling rights. All it takes are a few members of our state congress or a court ruling to change things drastically. We homeschoolers don't take our freedoms for granted!

BTW, I think I'll move this over into the "Educating our Children" sub-forum here, as it does pertain to education. I'd be interested to hear others' experiences...it can vary so much from state to state.

Blessings to you!
    ~Mercy
    "Therefore if you have been raised up with Christ,
    keep seeking the things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God.
    Set your mind on the things above, not the things that are on the earth.
    For you have died and your life is hidden with Christ in God."
    Col. 3:1-3

"Some people think God does not like to be troubled with our constant coming and asking. The way to trouble God is not to come at all." - D.L. Moody

Hi,