PDA

View Full Version : falling away

wonderwhatmynameis
Dec 1st 2007, 04:48 AM
Hello everyone,

This is my first time here and have done some reading, I feel this is a good place to ask about some things I have been feeling.

First off, a little background:

I was mostly agnostic/atheistic while growing up, typical church traditions pushed me away from Christianity as a child. I was confused about the difference between Christ and religions.
When I was about 21 (I am now 24), I accepted Christ and was led to a church that helped me to read God's Word with understanding. As I grew in knowledge I found myself able to fellowship with other students and eventually became more aware of everyone's different interpretations of the Word, even among people of the same church.
This has come to bother me very much. It seems that God would have a reason for all these different beliefs, a reason that I can't comprehend. It seems as though everyone in this world is going to be wrong about a lot of things God has told us in the bible. I know that the scripture says "study to show thyself approved" but i feel now that studying extensively gets you no where. I know that if I ask the Lord for help in understanding that He will give it to me. But i still won't be able to forget the many other people who are more learned and scholarly in the Bible that all have different beliefs than mine.

I know that I still have room to grow, but I've lost the desire to study. This has made me feel guilty even though I still pray, depend, and have faith in the Lord. I still try to live as Christ would want me to and I refuse to turn my back on Him again.

Maybe I'm being too hard on myself. Maybe it's ok to take this long of break? Maybe I just need to be patient and I'll come around eventually.

Any advice or scripture would help. Thanks for listening.

In Christ,
JO

ravi4u2
Dec 1st 2007, 06:00 AM