PDA

View Full Version : They Could Not Stand

menJesus
Jan 9th 2008, 10:28 AM
The Holy Spirit has caused men to be "slain in the Spirit" since the OT times.

Here are a few scriptures out of the Bible re: this "slain in the Spirit" subject.

God Himself knows I am no expert on the subject, but I have had it happen to me, and it was of God.

In reading the history of the early churches, I have found this to be a commonplace happening for at least the last 300 years, in some of the churches of America. In the last 50-60 years, this experience has gotten rarer and rarer - why, I do not know.

I still do not understand why it happened to me 4 times in my life - I only know that it did. And I could probably sit here and think up a hundred reasons as to why God has blessed some of us with this, but I won`t do that - as I said, I simply do not know...

What I am seeing on this forum about this topic disturbs me, and I feel compelled to start this thread about this.

If one has an understanding of the way people spoke back in the OT, these passages are very simple to understand.

The priests "could not stand" so they fell. Why? Because of "the cloud". What is the cloud? The Holy Spirit...

I ask that the unbelievers study this subject and consider it prayerfully. It grieves me in my spirit to see that the idea of this beautiful manifestation, this Work of God Himself, is being rejected by men.

Please, please do not intentionally deny the power of the Living God...

1 Kings 8:11

American Standard Version (ASV)

so that the priests could not stand to minister by reason of the cloud; for the glory of Jehovah filled the house of Jehovah.

1 Kings 8:10-12 (in Context) 1 Kings 8 (Whole Chapter)
King James Version (KJV)

So that the priests could not stand to minister because of the cloud: for the glory of the LORD had filled the house of the LORD.

Amplified Bible (AMP)