PDA

View Full Version : A Letter to My Lutheran Friends

OscarAnthony
Mar 21st 2008, 01:34 AM
Dear Brothers and Sisters, :hug:

Those memorable years that I’ve spent in the Lutheran Church were full of good times. Whatever fellowship we had was enjoyable. Together, we enjoyed God-honoring conversation, studied together, and even ate with one another. Each Sunday was something I always looked forward to. From what I remember, our traditions were very beautiful and so was our music. There was always something for me to learn. Next to the Bible, my favorite book was Luther’s Small Catechism and I studied it intently.
Times have changed and I must move on. What I mean is that I can no longer be a part of the Lutheran Church, yet I will continue to keep my faith in Christ.
“Why the sudden farewell?” you may ask.
I will explain why I have found myself drifting away from the Lutheran Church:

It all started when I delved into such Bible verses as John 3:5, which says, “Except a man be born of the water and of the spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God” and Acts 2:38 which tells us, “Repent and be baptized every one of you...for the forgiveness of your sins.”

Luther’s Small Catechism says that baptism “works forgiveness of sins, delivers from the death and the devil, and gives eternal salvation to all who believe this,” but then Ephesians 2:8,9 says “For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.”
I wondered “How can baptism give eternal salvation to us, if our salvation is not achieved by works?”

For hours, I argued with myself about these verses and Luther’s teachings.
“What is this ‘water’ that I read about in John 3:5?” I wondered. :hmm: The Lord revealed to me that this water is not baptismal water like we’ve always been taught that it was. Uh oh!