PDA

View Full Version : Discussion Why Revisions?

IMINXTC
Aug 8th 2008, 07:15 AM
I have the greatest respect and even admiration for the scholarship exhibited in these forums. And, truth be known, I could never presume to speak on the same level as those who have the courage to laboriously search and compare manuscripts in their zeal to promote our faith in the Word of God. When it comes to manuscript investigation and textual comparison, I am a layman. Like most of us (I think), I do my best to learn from the best.

And I would like to clarify the obvious: contrary to much rhetoric, most individuals involved in the fiercely debated issue of Bible versions are genuine, sincere believers, who deserve a fair, unbiased hearing. Far be it from me to argue on grounds I know little or nothing about.

When we allow ourselves to be drawn into the realm of personal attack, rudeness, and bitter, off-topic posturing... well, we are being played like fiddles, by the enemy of our souls.

And I would be sinning against the church and our Lord, if I were to present these questions and concerns just to start a fight.

But if truth can only be determined by scholastic excellence, we might as well just go have a pizza (if you're buying, I'm going with you)...
And who could deny the presence of a certain high-minded, over-bearing mentality in today's church, based upon intellectual prowess rather than upon the patience, love and lowliness of the Holy Spirit.?

So my questions are: Why revisions? Why, after 19 centuries do I need Textual Criticism? Did God Fail me from 1611 to 1890? And why am I in need of the curative measures of Westcott and Hort, let alone the revisons of Kittel, Gesenius and others? And if it all amounts to nothing, like so many tell me, why is it such an enormous concern among believers?

And I might risk one more question: Doesn't the public testimony and documented beliefs of these men come into play at all when it comes to correcting the Bible?