PDA

View Full Version : Discussion When to Biblically leave a church

poochie
Sep 23rd 2008, 12:28 PM
I have been laboring and serving at my church for 11 months, and lately I have been getting thought about departing. 1.5 months ago I taught a 2 part series on legalism and in that message I stated that contemporary worship can be good or bad and I cited much scripture evidence along with a long article by John MacArthur on the subject, and for the next week I taught against having a system of rules and regulations, but that God cares about the heart more than he does conformity to rules. That message I believe stirred up feathers.

Then almost 2 Sundays ago the new Sunday School superintendent who just walked in and wants to control all the programs in the church (although we have served far longer than him) taught on Bible Translations and he openly bashed and ranted on the NIV. He claimed the NIV is a Bible Commentary and that he had a problem with the NIV being called the "Word of God."

Since the genre at this church is interactive I openly asked him questions, and stated my defense of the NIV based on the evidence. I am a graduate student and have taken courses feature textual Criticism, and have read the minds of authors like Osborne (editor of the IVP NT Commentary Series and also author of the Hermeneutical Spiral), Carson & Moo (Authors of NT Introduction--A book all about Textual Criticism and the formation of the NT) and these authors prefer the NIV as the standard bible translation quoted in their works. These authors are aware and I read Osborne stating that the NASB or ESV are more literal, but he never stated that litteral=better for the modern english reader.

However he & his wife filed a complaint about me to my school and I had to go and defend myself. Since I live in a area where most are atagonist towards the NIV and most wont bother to study the evidence, this si a strike against me.