PDA

View Full Version : Parallel Bibles

Tbone
Nov 11th 2008, 02:57 PM
I've noticed that a few people at our church use parallel Bibles. Last sunday a friend of mine showed me his new NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible, and it was really interesting how comparing the two versions was helpful in Scripture study.

How do you feel about parallel Bibles?, Do you use them or hate them?, would you recommend them and why? What Bible versions would be most useful to you in a Parallel Bible?

Kudo Shinichi
Nov 11th 2008, 03:35 PM
To my point of view, I rather use NIV instead of Parallel Bible scared bad translation.;) Who knows what will be written in that Bible????

MercyChild
Nov 11th 2008, 03:54 PM
Well I am new in Christ, and I did not know that there is a diffrence in Bibles. I thought a Bible is a bible. Thank you for sharing, at least I can do some homework now.:hmm: Lucky I am not english speaking, and there is only two available bibles in my language!

Marc B
Nov 11th 2008, 04:10 PM
Best to use more than one or two translations in your preferred language and compare them with the greek since the original manuscripts were written in greek. For me I rarely use the original KJV and prefer a modern English translation including the NKJV and NIV. I'm not knocking the KJV, just pointing out how people can be confused with context of scripture by soley sticking to a version written for people living centuries ago in their contemporary language. Since I don't speak Shakespearean English why would I want to learn the most precious words ever written in a language almost foreign to me? God doesn't whisper in my ears with words like spake, thou and whence. He wants me to understand what He wants.
:)

http://www.biblegateway.com/versions/

http://bible.cc/

Emanate
Nov 11th 2008, 04:39 PM
I would recommend:
A Harmony of the Gospels by Robert L. Thomas and Stanley N. Gundy