PDA

View Full Version : Please Help HELP please

TurboLung
Nov 21st 2008, 12:51 PM
Hello everyone,

I need some help, or, more specifically, answers that will help me. I am going through a stage in my life where I am looking for an answer. An answer to what you may ask; well, an answer to how we became, and at the moment, I believe we will probably never know. However, some background first.

I was brought up Greek Orthodox. I went to a Catholic School, Marist Brothers. I grew up knowing one God. Over time though, he changed. At school, he was a God who could send you to eternal hell if bad. As the years passed, his image changed to that of a caring God. In the bible, one could be struck down for collecting sticks on Sabbath.

I am at a cross roads in this time of my life. As I grew, and was taught through my parents to think for myself; and as I studied the sciences, I could not help but question God and any type of religion. I really fought against this, as I was brought up to believe in God - but what could I do? On one hand I had a book, the Bible, which told me certain things, and on the other, I had logic and actual proof of studies [such as evolution of man etc].

I have some questions that nobody who is religious can answer, and, by answer, I don't mean the easy way out, such as, "It's the devil at work" and it's a "conspiracy". That is just plain stupid. You know it and I know it.