PDA

View Full Version : 144,000 (Moved to ETC from NiC)

creedfan
Dec 1st 2008, 04:46 AM
I studied with the Jehovah's Witnesses at one time, I was never one myself. They have a belief that only 144,000 people go to Heaven, and the rest stay on paradise earth. That group of the 144,000 is God's government. I don't personally believe that, and my raeson is because Jesus clearly states "Store up for your treasures in Heaven" If I were to store up for my treasures in Heaven, then surely that must me I will be there to enjoy them. Am I right on this or am I missing the mark somewhere in there?

Also, my other question is, who exactly is the 144,000?

Revinius
Dec 1st 2008, 01:40 PM
I studied with the Jehovah's Witnesses at one time, I was never one myself. They have a belief that only 144,000 people go to Heaven, and the rest stay on paradise earth. That group of the 144,000 is God's government. I don't personally believe that, and my raeson is because Jesus clearly states "Store up for your treasures in Heaven" If I were to store up for my treasures in Heaven, then surely that must me I will be there to enjoy them. Am I right on this or am I missing the mark somewhere in there?

I have always thought it was 144,000 churches.

mcgyver
Dec 1st 2008, 03:24 PM
Revelation 7:2-8 tells us who the 144,000 are:

2 Then I saw another angel ascending from the east, having the seal of the living God. And he cried with a loud voice to the four angels to whom it was granted to harm the earth and the sea, 3 saying, “Do not harm the earth, the sea, or the trees till we have sealed the servants of our God on their foreheads.” 4 And I heard the number of those who were sealed. One hundred and forty-four thousand of all the tribes of the children of Israel were sealed:
5 of the tribe of Judah twelve thousand were sealed;
of the tribe of Reuben twelve thousand were sealed;
of the tribe of Gad twelve thousand were sealed;
6 of the tribe of Asher twelve thousand were sealed;