PDA

View Full Version : Discussion Praying in the spirit

MercyChild
Feb 8th 2009, 10:50 AM
Ok, so I am actually new in Christ, but this is a Biblical Topic, I think. I read the following verse, and don't really understand what praying in the spirit means.....Can someone perhaps help me understand this verse, that it could be more meaningful to me?:blush:

1 Cor14-15
14 For if I pray in an unknown tongue, my spirit prayeth, but my understanding is unfruitful.
15 What is it then? I will pray with the spirit, and I will pray with the understanding also: I will sing with the spirit, and I will sing with the understanding also.

shawn_2828
Feb 8th 2009, 12:25 PM
Ok, so I am actually new in Christ, but this is a Biblical Topic, I think. I read the following verse, and don't really understand what praying in the spirit means.....Can someone perhaps help me understand this verse, that it could be more meaningful to me?:blush:

1 Cor14-15
14 For if I pray in an unknown tongue, my spirit prayeth, but my understanding is unfruitful.
15 What is it then? I will pray with the spirit, and I will pray with the understanding also: I will sing with the spirit, and I will sing with the understanding also.

When you pray in the spirit, you allow the Holy Spirit to take control and guide you into prayer. Meaning as you are in the spirit, listen to the Holy Spirit as he give you the words to say. Speaking in an unknown tonque is unfruitful for us because we do not know what we are saying.

But God knows what we are saying, because it is the Holy Spirit working through you praying to God.

God is a spirit and we must worship Him in spirit. The Holy Spirit knows everything about you, so who better to help you pray.

So, when you pray in an unknown tongue it is the Holy Spirit praying, not you.

billy-brown 2
Feb 8th 2009, 12:57 PM

1 Cor14-15

Ok, let's see . . .