PDA

View Full Version : Lesson Learned: Secular Lifestyle

Gods Creation
Jul 15th 2009, 08:45 AM
Hey guys! Some of you may remember me, but most of you do not, which is fine just the same. I just thought I'd drop by to share an update about myself and a valuable lesson I have learned over the last two years.

First a little background about myself. I'm 20 years old going on 21. I was raised in a Christian home and was never an overly bad kid. I've always made friends easy and made a number of friends in High School who were a bad influence. Still, I managed to stay clear of the bad stuff they did (sex, drugs, drinking, smoking, etc). I graduated high school early and killed my social life to become a workaholic focused on college and work.

When I was about to turn 19, I got most of my stuff in order and decided to rebuild my social life and make up for the lost years of limited social life. My focus shifted on developing the largest social circle I could manage. I wanted to be the guy every guy and girl wanted to hang out with and call everytime something fun was going on. I made a ton of "acquaintances." I found myself having less and less time for God, until He was lost somewhere on a list of priorities.

This lasted a little over a year. Fast forward to January of this year when I'm 20. I can't explain what happened. I had an epiphany that this life is a dead end. For all the effort, I had no meaningful relationships. I had no meaningful friendships. I could see that I would have NOTHING to show for all this partying several years from now. I know guys right now who are in their late 30's who have partied most of their life. They have nothing worthwhile to show for it. Not a single thing. That's a sad situation to be in. Sadder still, they know this and regret it, but think that it's just the way life is. I guess after realizing this, I decided to try something different.