PDA

View Full Version : Discussion Secular Music?

JordanW
Aug 17th 2009, 02:26 AM
I was just curious as to what all of your thoughts were on this subject. For quite a few months I didn't listen to it because I felt that it wasn't right to do so (because a lot of it has lyrics that aren't God-glorifying at all) and I felt that the Lord didn't want me to listen to it. Recently I stumbled upon some of my CDs and listened to some of them again, at first I was like, "Ah, the good old days!", but then after listening for a few minutes it seemed to be very boring and lackluster, it just didn't seem to have any substance to it. I think that maybe it doesn't mean much to me anymore, but something keeps drawing me back to it for some reason, but I do know that deep down I know that I want my focus to be 100% on the Lord. I am a Pastor now and I have that responsibility and I don't want this type of thing to tempt me in anyway or effect my preaching in any way whatsoever...anyways, sorry for rambling on, but I just wanted to know your thoughts on secular music and if Christians should be listening to it? I hope to get a fruitful discussion going. God bless!

Ayala
Aug 17th 2009, 02:29 AM
I generally don't listen to secular music. I have a plethora of Christian music in many genres. There are secular songs I like but I avert anything with negative messages/coarse lyrics.

stepbystep
Aug 17th 2009, 05:32 AM
i find if i listen to secular music i feel a little guilty about it. but mostly if i listen to it for an extended period of time i find myself slipping back into ways of thought and speech that just doesn't fit me any more, so i just avoid it when ever possible.

JordanW
Aug 17th 2009, 06:38 AM
I see both of your points, I guess that's what happens to me as well.

Izdaari
Aug 17th 2009, 12:53 PM
I have no problem with secular music and often listen to it. Although sometimes I will remove something with a particularly negative message from my playlist.

quasar