PDA

View Full Version : Significance of these verses?

Redapple
Mar 1st 2010, 08:20 AM
Hi everybody :). Great site you have here. Ive been looking around for quite some time now and am finally gonna post cause i have a few questions on some verses. This is my first time getting acquainted with the bible so this is all very confusing to. Im supposed to find the significance in these verses. Could you possible tell me if im on the right track? Thanks in advance

4)”Get up, take the child and his mother, and flee to Egypt.”
The significance of this verse is that Jesus’ father Joseph prophecies that Herod is about to search for his child, to destroy him. This is significant because Jesus must live, and also because of the exile”. This is very similar to the exile of mosses who fleas Egypt as well.

10) The inscription Pilate places on Jesus’ cross. Irony because he was hebrew?

2. The transfiguration. The detail is that Jesus is a divine being and that his transfiguration puts him above mosses and Elijah. His dazzling white clothes (that no man could ever bleach so white) also indicate a heavenly, rather than an earthly being. This is significant because the miracle of Jesus appearing is unique because the miracle happens to Jesus himself, and supports his identity as the son of god?

3) “The first commandment of all”.

The first commandment of all emphasizes the sovereignty of god over all humanity. According to marks bible Jesus says it as an order that we take god into our hearts which in basically means that it is necessary in order to go to heaven instead of hell.

5) Do not think that I have come to abolish the law or the prophets; I have not come to abolish but to fulfill.”