PDA

View Full Version : Christian Standard Bible?

MaryFreeman
Mar 6th 2010, 06:17 PM
Can anyone share thoughts and opinions on this version? I have read a bit.... And compared it to trusted versions.... I feel as if some input from you all would be a comfort.... :confused I haven't seen anything yet that would make me question....

Have you?

Amos_with_goats
Mar 6th 2010, 06:26 PM
Can anyone share thoughts and opinions on this version? I have read a bit.... And compared it to trusted versions.... I feel as if some input from you all would be a comfort.... :confused I haven't seen anything yet that would make me question....

Have you?

I have no knowledge of this version, but have to say that the name makes me smile. I like the idea of a "Christian Standard Version" but somehow think it will not be published on paper... (but be seen face to Face, when we no longer have need for the sun, for the Son shall be our light...) :)

Blessings,.

Jemand
Mar 6th 2010, 06:57 PM
The Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB) is a product of the Southern Baptist Convention with some help from non-Baptists. It is a little bit more literal than the NIV, but very much less literal than NASB. The HCSB was produced largely because the SBC is moving away from the NIV toward the NASB, and the SBC was not able to purchase the copyright to the NASB. All of this is explained in detail, along with very much more information, in an article here:

http://www.bible-researcher.com/csb.html

MaryFreeman
Mar 6th 2010, 07:03 PM
Thank you guys!

grit
Mar 6th 2010, 07:20 PM
I agree with Jemand. The HCSB and the ESV were developed by conservative American Christians in response to the planned major tinkering with the NIV they'd grown to love. The Southern Baptist Convention decided it couldn't continue to trust some other on-going translation committee be responsible for what it's members relied upon as God's Word, so they designed to formulate the HCSB as a literal but reader-friendly translation.