PDA

View Full Version : adding to Scripture

motormouf
Mar 12th 2010, 07:42 PM
can someone please explain to me what exactly adding to Scritpure entails? Obviously if i were to write a version of the Bible or parts of it and insert stuff that wasnt there or contrary to it that would qualify. But what about media based on Scripture. Many song, movies and plays etc base themselves on Bible stories (etc the Little drummer boy,Ben Hur etc) while not exactly changing up Scripture they use the info involved into it and create an entire different story. I say this because of a disagreememt i had with someone.

I'm a writer and the vast majority of my work is Scripture/ Christian based. So one time i was discussing ideas for a skit we'd be doing about the Prodigal Son, so I suggested why not make the older brother seriously dislike the younger one or e disdainful of him the other person found a problem with it seeing it as adding to Scripture. I disagreed since

it was simply adding character to the characters,
The Bible makes no reference to how the 2 brothers related to each other, as a matter of fact they don’t actually interact in the story at all.
By writing a script on a poem, an artist doenst add to scripture since the original Scripture remains unchanged. So to me as long as we do not make up facts about Biblical characters which are disrespectful or anti_ Christian (ie like how Family guy, South park or the da vinci code does) i think its nothing wrong being done.