PDA

View Full Version : Elohim Judges

Teke
Aug 12th 2004, 03:52 PM
I am studying the elohim or eloheem. Looking for input on these guys.

Were they judges?
Was the elders of Israel (70) patterned after them, them being the 70 elohim angels to the nations?
One of the reasons I am curious is because in Exodus, more than once the word for judge translates in Hebrew to elohim.

If so, then would Abraham and Moses also have been elohim?
This being in relation to the elect and those who judge with Christ.

If this structure holds true, then the elect replace the heavenly elohim judges.
And if there is any scripture reference to this replacement in the NT that connects the OT. Such as Pauls statement that "you are to judge angels", what is this in relation to in OT? Such as would show this as having occurred already or at the time of Christs ressurrection. Or was this a future prophecy of Pauls?

:help: Scripture references are first on my list, then any other books of antiquity that may help, and also historical accounts, as well as good commentaries. All info is greatly appreciated.

BTW, I am familiar with the Jewish rabbis commentaries on angels, but I would like some more grounded information. The rabbis tend to be tainted by ancient practices, thereby introducing fiction in with facts, producing a philosophy of sorts.

Ta-An
Aug 13th 2004, 12:41 PM
Elohim, elohim transliterated plural title {430 elohim} plural of {433 eloahh, elowahh}; this plural title has a dual interpretation; at times it refers to pagan gods, and at times to the triune Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

Look in the "search" function ... type "Elohim"
Elohim is G_D.... it is the plural form that is singular in meaning.....

vume
Aug 13th 2004, 01:19 PM
Matthew 19:28
So Jesus said to them, "Assuredly I say to you, that in the regeneration, when the Son of Man sits on the throne of His glory, you who have followed Me will also sit on twelve thrones, judging the twelve tribes of Israel.
Luke 22:30