PDA

View Full Version : A question

acm
Mar 17th 2011, 03:12 AM
Hello, I am new to the Bible, Jesus our savior and also here as well. I have many, many, many questions, but will leave it at one for now. I have read the New Testament twice now and still cannot find where it explicitly says Christians are allowed to eat (unclean) meat such as pork as it says in detail to not eat in the Old Testament? Can somebody explain some rationale as well in regard? Thank you

Slug1
Mar 17th 2011, 03:23 AM
Hello, I am new to the Bible, Jesus our savior and also here as well. I have many, many, many questions, but will leave it at one for now. I have read the New Testament twice now and still cannot find where it explicitly says Christians are allowed to eat "unclean" meat such as pork as it says in detail to not eat in the Old Testament?God pointed out the fact concerning eating of meat in a vision for us all to understand that any meat can be consumed. This can be found in Acts chapter 10.

Also, Jesus stressed that anything going "into" a person's mouth does not defile them, only what comes "out" of their mouth can defile them. This can be found in Matthew 15.

These are two area's/scriptures that come to mind.

Also, in James 3, the scriptures talk about the tongue... so the scriptures from Acts 10 and Matthew 15 can be divided by these scriptures. in James 3, all the beasts, birds, etc of the world are referred to as "tamed"... this means we can do with them as we will and that means, if we want to eat them, no problem.

So, this should help you begin your study of the Bible concerning this topic.

Welcome to the board, God bless you!

Ezer Kenegdo
Mar 17th 2011, 03:58 AM
1Ti 4:4 For every creature of God is good, and nothing to be refused, if it be received with thanksgiving:
1Ti 4:5 For it is sanctified by the word of God and prayer.