PDA

View Full Version : Free will, total depravity, and gnosticism

Brother Mark
Feb 2nd 2012, 02:22 PM
I recently saw in a thread where someone stated the many of the doctrines in the church today started out with in the Gnostic sect. I found that interesting and did some research. Consider this thread a chance to talk about the biblical basis for your belief and to trace the history of said belief through history. Admittedly, I have done little research on the matter yet. Having just started, I am intrigued. Here is the link to the second article I read on the subject.

http://openairoutreach.wordpress.com/2011/04/04/did-augustine-corrupt-the-church-with-gnostic-doctrine/

I don't know anything about the people that wrote the article because I am just getting started. But he quoted Calvin in something that I found fascinating.

Regarding the term “free will,” John Calvin admitted “As to the Fathers, (if their authority weighs with us,) they have the term constantly in their mouths…”31 He said, “The Greek fathers above others” have taught “the power of the human will”32 and “they have not been ashamed to make use of a much more arrogant expression calling man ‘free agent or self-manager,’ just as if man had a power to govern himself…”33 He also said, “The Latin fathers have always retained the word ‘free will’ as if man stood yet upright.”34 It is a fact that cannot be denied even by those who most ardently oppose the doctrine of free will, that the doctrine of free will and not that of inability was held by all of the Early Church.

Here are the footnotes he referred to.

31. John Calvin (Institutes of the Christian Religion, Volume One, Published by Calvin Translation Society, 1845 Edition, p. 308)
32. John Calvin (An Equal Check to Pharsaism and Antinomianism by John Fletcher, Volume Two, p. 202, Published by Carlton & Porter)