Was totally laughed at today :(

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Was totally laughed at today :(

As most of you know, I work as a maintenance technician on industrial equipment, and it is a pretty dirty job. Many days, when i get off of work, I am just filthy, so I don't really like to go anywhere unless it is absolutely necessary.

Today was one of those days. It was a rough day at work, and by the end of the day, I had dust and grease on my shirt. I didn't even realize how dirty my face was until I got home. I don't like getting grimey, but its my job. What choice do I have?

Well, when I went into the rental store to make a payment on my account, there was this guy at the counter. As soon as I walked in, the guy looks at me, then kind of nods toward me while looking at his friend. His friend turns her body around to look at me (she was sitting with her back to me), and starts laughing hysterically. I didn't say anything, but I was really bummed out and embarassed.

I get up to the counter, and the guy says "oh, wow, you're a hard worker," and starts asking me about my job. Everyone was just completely staring at me, looking all astonished. Then, after I'm done with my business, I turn around to leave, and the girl just glares at me. We make eye contact, but then when I'm just out of her view, she starts snickering.

WHY?!! What's so funny about me having dirt and grease on my clothes? It made me feel really bad, and I so badly wanted to say something to her, but I also didn't want to ruin my witness, so I just walked away, but even so, I felt so depressed. It was a rough day, and I'm tired at work, and to have another lady laugh at me because I have to work this crummy job which involves grease and hydraulic fluid...It's not humbling. It's humiliating!!!!

Even at the bank, people were totally staring at me. This one woman just sort of looked me up and down with that snobby look that people give you sometimes, and i just sort of stared back.