Chilean Volcano Erupts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chilean Volcano Erupts

SANTIAGO, Chile — The Puyehue volcano in southern Chile erupted Saturday, sending a huge plume of smoke and ash into the sky and prompting officials to evacuate about 600 people living nearby. There were no reports of injuries.
    Authorities had put the area around the volcano on alert Saturday morning after a flurry of earthquakes, and the eruption began in the afternoon. The National Emergency Office said it recorded an average of 230 tremors an hour.

praying for the Chilean people

Re: Chilean Volcano Erupts

Originally posted by strongwatchman View Post
    SANTIAGO, Chile — 230 tremors an hour.
    praying for the Chilean people
    Good grief. I'm no expert but that's a lot of tremors, is it not?

sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by quiet dove View Post
      Good grief. I'm no expert but that's a lot of tremors, is it not?
      Yea it is, but not unusual for a volcano about to erupt. Tremors are felt as the magma rises. This volcano was being watched closely and on a yellow alert status for the last 2 months. Looks like they did a good job of predicting the eruption and alerting people around it.

Some towns are being hit by heavy ashfall. Here is a link with some good pictures (in Spanish).

http://www.fabio.com.ar/verpost.php?id_noticia=4508
      In Christ,

-- Rev

“To preserve the government we must also preserve morals. Morality rests on religion; if you destroy the foundation, the superstructure must fall. When the public mind becomes vitiated and corrupt, laws are a nullity and constitutions are waste paper.” – Daniel Webster, 4th of July, 1800, Oration at Hanover, N.H.

Comment

Originally posted by RevLogos View Post