Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please Help Honor Killings in Bible

Hello everyone,

I go by the username Hugh. I'm a political scientist whose regional expertise is the Middle East and North Africa (MENA), specializing in MENA Democratization/US and EU Democracy Promotion Policies in the Middle East (primary) and American-Muslim Relations. I've traveled extensively throughout the region and lived in Egypt from 2008-2011 while working on my M.A. at the American University in Cairo. While there, I taught at an American private high school, was a TA for political science classes at AUC for the esteemed Dr. Ezzedine Choukri-Fishere, interned at the Egyptian Economic Forum, which is a civil society NGO, presented my research on diverse topics at political science conferences, and considered an expert on the region. I've also learned the Arabic language with a high degree of proficiency, even reading the Qur'an (which is absolutely beautiful and incomparable in Arabic) as well as the Bible in Arabic, which is when I learned how prevalent the name Allah is attached with the religions of the Middle East.

Which leads to my issue: In the US, we frequently hear about 'honor killings' occurring among Muslim populations, and these horrific acts are often conflated with the religion of Islam. I researched the topic, and have noticed a dearth of support within the Qur'an which neither supports, condones, nor commands these vile acts, contrarily the Qur'an specifically states "do not killing your children..." in Chapter 17, verse 31. Moreover, in the Pre-Islamic Arab sub-culture the birth of a daughter was considered a disgrace. Consequently, some Arabs would commit infanticide by burying their newborn daughters alive, ultimately leading to their death. Islam abolished this practice among the new converts, eventually leading to its complete disintegration.