Thread: Biblical Support for Infant Baptism/Adult Baptism?

Biblical Support for Infant Baptism/Adult Baptism?

I'm new to Christianity, so I'm just now getting around to this area of study

I never really thought about Baptism until I heard a Christian radio host (forgot which denomination) adamantly condemn Believer's/Adult baptism.

I remember his tone during the rant, and it almost seemed like he considered the practice to be evil

Can someone explain the infant vs. adult baptism controversy and provide the biblical support for both positions?

1.) Were infants baptized in the Bible or early Church?
    2.) Since adults were baptized in the Bible, wouldn't it be a legitimate form of baptism?
    3.) Is there anything WRONG with adult baptism?
    4.) Is Baptism necessary?

I was baptized as an infant in a Protestant denomination - just curious
    God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea; Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. - Psalm 46:1-3

Yes, baptism is necessary...Acts 2:38, Mark 16:16

No..infant Baptism was not practised by the early church. Only those capable of believing were baptised. Acts 8:37. This by necessity excludes infants and those with out the capacity to understand and believe the gospel.

Only adults were baptised as far as biblical examples would show

all the best...

Quote Originally Posted by TheAnswer99 View Post

I never really thought about Baptism until I heard a Christian radio host (forgot which denomination) adamantly condemn Believer's/Adult baptism.

I remember his tone during the rant, and it almost seemed like he considered the practice to be evil

Can someone explain the infant vs. adult baptism controversy and provide the biblical support for both positions?