Thread: Calvinism

Calvinism

Question for calvinist, how would you summarize the overall story of the bible? Trying to do research and would greatly appreciate your answers, thanks in advance.

Re: Calvinism

Quote Originally Posted by daymangs13 View Post
    Question for calvinist, how would you summarize the overall story of the bible? Trying to do research and would greatly appreciate your answers, thanks in advance.
    I'm just a student of the Bible, and no Calvinist, but there is a very scholarly work by Robert Govett on Calvin's doctrine called "Calvinism by Calvin". The book is now probably out of print but I found it as a download on this link.

https://archive.org/details/calvinism-by-calvin

Hope it helps.

Quote Originally Posted by daymangs13 View Post
    Calvinism may mean different things for different people. I'm a Calvinist, but not likely strictly in the sense of all Calvinists. I'm just a Predestinarian, simply because I believe Jesus taught it, Paul taught it, Augustine taught it, Luther taught it, and Calvin taught it. I changed my position from Arminian to Predestinarian while listening to Walter Martin advocate for Calvinism. I simply deferred to Martin's argument, because they were stronger arguments than I had, and also because something in the belief system spoke to my personal upbringing in Christianity.

I can only speak then to my own brand of Calvinism. I believe Jesus anticipated from the beginning that his "flock" would be infected with false sheep. It was, as Jesus said, the planting of Satan in the field of the world. A harvest of good grain came up, along with a harvest of weeds. The tares and wheat were virtually undistinguishable, until closer to harvest time. We should be very careful when trying to judge who the true sheep are and who the false sheep are. It's best to let people make their own decisions, and not to try to predetermine who we think they are acting like.