Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recommendation for new Bible?

Recommendation for new Bible?

I take a New American Standard Bible with me to church because, except for a huge index in the front, it has very few footnotes or side margin info...it's pretty straight forward. I also have a New King James Study Bible I use along side the NASB when I'm studying the Word of God at home.

I'd like to add a third translation to use when I'm reading through the scriptures. I know there are apps with many translations on my phone but I prefer an actual Bible when at home.

What translation would you advise me to purchase? Is there a specific Bible that you recommend in that translation?

Both the NKJ and NAS are from the word-for-word side of the spectrum, so I'm thinking I might want a more thought-for-thought Bible such as the CSB, NIV, or NLT?

I would like something accurate that's not overly difficult to read or understand. In a perfect world I would like the words of Christ in red and the Bible to have a larger than normal print, but these are not requirements.

Unfortunately there are not any Christian bookstores within a 30 mile radius of me to where I can check out many Bibles in one place.

Thank you for any help you can give!

TripleB

Re: Recommendation for new Bible?

Quote Originally Posted by TripleB View Post
    I take a New American Standard Bible with me to church because, except for a huge index in the front, it has very few footnotes or side margin info...it's pretty straight forward. I also have a New King James Study Bible I use along side the NASB when I'm studying the Word of God at home.

I'd like to add a third translation to use when I'm reading through the scriptures. I know there are apps with many translations on my phone but I prefer an actual Bible when at home.

What translation would you advise me to purchase? Is there a specific Bible that you recommend in that translation?